The applications for Semester 2 have opened! More info here →

The applications for Semester 2 (March – July 2019) have opened! Mentors for this semester include:

Born in Flamez for March 2019
Ville Haimala (Amnesia Scanner) for April 2019
Andi Toma (Mouse on Mars) for May 2019
Drew McDowall (Coil/Psychic TV) for June 2019
Jam Rostron aka Planningtorock for July 2019

Two more mentors (June and July 2019) will be announced at the beginning of November 2018. Interested musicians can apply for their one-month residency until December 16, 2018. Note that applicants can only apply to work with two mentors.

born-in-flamez

Born in Flamez

March 2019

Born in Flamez is a Berlin-based producer and DJ who subverts gender and genre with a range of influences somewhere between deconstructed club, lofi pop, grime, and classical music. The project has released tracks on Infinite Machine, Monkeytown and UnReal and collaborated with the likes of WWWings, Ziúr and Modeselektor. They have produced with LA based noise trio Health, whom she also supported on tour. They also supported canadian multitalent OPN in Europe and co-curated CTM festival 2018.
soundcloud.com/born-in-flamez

ville-haimala

Ville Haimala

April 2019

Ville Haimala is a Finnish born Berlin based artist and producer best known as one half of music duo, performing arts troupe, experience design studio and production house Amnesia Scanner. Amnesia Scanner has released a series of critically acclaimed albums/records on labels like Young Turks and PAN and presented work at art institutions such as ICA London, HKW Berlin, and the Serpentine Gallery Marathon in London. Aside working on Amnesia Scanner, Ville is also working as a composer and music producer collaborating with visual and musical artists like FKA Twigs, David Byrne, Holly Herndon and Oliver Laric.
amnesiascanner.net

andi-toma

Andi Toma

May 2019

Andi Toma is a founding member of Mouse on Mars – one of the most defining and versatile electronic music projects from Germany. Since they started in 1993, Andi Toma and band partner Jan St. Werner have recorded 15 albums and have started various collaborations, such as with outsider composer Moondog, The Falls Mark E. Smith and avant-pop-outfit Stereolab. Additionally to Mouse on Mars the duo started a label called sonig where they showcase experimental music. Originally from Düsseldorf, Andi Toma now lives and works in Berlin.
mouseonmars.com
sonig.com

drew-mcdowall

Drew McDowall

June 2019

Drew McDowall is a Scottish born- NYC based composer and musician. He was a member of Coil in the 90’s contributing heavily to some of their most respected and influential works. Recently he has presented his hallucinatory, darkly experimental work at international festivals such as CTM, Berlin Atonal, Labyrinth, UH Festival, Dark Mofo and Unsound. He has collaborated with Hiro Kone, Puce Mary, Croatian Amor, Varg and Rabit amongst others. His latest solo album The Third Helix was released on Dais Records in September 2018.
daisrecords.com/collections/Drew-McDowall

planningtorock

Planningtorock

July 2019

Jam Rostron aka Planningtorock is a Bolton born Berlin-based singer-songwriter, composer, producer and director. A self-taught, non-binary, working class musician, they released three critically acclaimed studio albums of left-field dance music to their name – not to mention various collaborations, opera’s, film scores and remixes. Over the last decade Rostron worked with The Knife, Bruce LaBruce, Mount Sims and Shit Robot and released on DFA Records.
planningtorockofficial.com

Back to Top

Die Bewerbungsphase für das zweite Semester von Amplify Berlin ist gestartet! Mehr Infos hier →

Die Bewerbungsphase für das zweite Semester (März – Juli 2019) von Amplify Berlin ist gestartet! Mentor*Innen des neuen Semester sind:

Born in Flamez (März 2019)
Ville Haimala von Amnesia Scanner (April 2019)
Andi Toma von Mouse on Mars (Mai 2019)

Zwei weitere Mentor*Innen (Juni und Juli 2019) werden Anfang November 2018 bekanntgegeben. Bis zum 16. Dezember haben interessierte Musiker*innen die Chance, sich für eine einmonatige Residency im Kunsthaus ACUD zu bewerben. Bitte beachtet, dass sich nur für zwei Mentor*Innen beworben werden kann.

born-in-flamez

Born in Flamez

März 2019

Born in Flamez ist eine Produzentin und DJ aus Berlin, deren Genre-aufbrechende Produktionen sich zwischen dekonstruierter Clubmusik, Lofi-Pop, Grime und Klassik bewegen. Ihre Tracks erschienen unter anderem auf Infinite Machine, Monkeytown und UnReal. Gearbeitet hat sie mit WWWings, Ziúr und Modeselektor und produzierte für das Noise-Trio Healt aus LA, das sie ebenfalls auf Tour begleitete. Born in Flamez spielte als Support für das kanadische Multitalent OPN in Europa und ko-kuratierte das CTM-Festival 2018.
soundcloud.com/born-in-flamez

ville-haimala

Ville Haimala

April 2019

Ville Haimala ist ein in Berlin lebender Künstler und Producer, der mit Amnesia Scanner große Bekanntheit erlangte, einem Hybrid aus Musik, Performance, Production und Design. Mit Amnesia Scanner veröffentlichte er Alben auf Young Turks und PAN und präsentierte seine Arbeiten im ICA London, HKW Berlin und der Serpentine Gallery Marathon in London. Über Amnesia Scanner hinaus ist Ville als Komponist und Produzent aktiv und arbeitete mit Künstler*Innen, wie FKA Twigs, David Byrne, Holly Herndon und Oliver Laric.
amnesiascanner.net

andi-toma

Andi Toma

Mai 2019

Andi Toma ist Gründungsmitglied von Mouse on Mars, eines der einflussreichsten und vielseitigsten Electronic-Projekte aus Deutschland. Seit 1993 haben Andi Toma und sein Bandpartner Jan St. Werner 15 Alben aufgenommen und mit bedeutenden Namen kollaboriert, darunter die New Yorker Musik-Ikone Moondog, The-Fall-Sänger Mark E. Smith und die Avant-Pop-Band Stereolab. Zusätzlich zu Mouse on Mars hat das Duo das Label sonig gegründet, auf dem es experimenteller Musik eine Plattform bietet. Andi Toma, gebürtiger Düsseldorfer, lebt und arbeitet in Berlin.
mouseonmars.com
sonig.com

drew-mcdowall

Drew McDowall

Juni 2019

Drew McDowall ist ein Komponist und Musiker, der zur Zeit in New York lebt und arbeitet. In den 90ern spielte er bei Coil und trug maßgeblich zu den einflussreichsten Alben der Band bei. Zuletzt präsentierte er seine düster-experimentellen Arbeiten auf internationalen Festivals, wie CTM, Berlin Atonal, Labyrinth, UH Festival, Dark Mofo und Unsound. Zusammengearbeitet hat er mit Hiro Kone, Puce Mary, Croatian Amor, Varg und Rabit. Sein drittes Album The Third Helix wurde im September 2018 auf Dais Records veröffentlicht.
daisrecords.com/collections/Drew-McDowall

planningtorock

Planningtorock

Juli 2019

Jam Rostron aka Planningtorock ist eine in Berlin lebende Singer-Songwriterin, Komponistin, Producerin und Regisseurin. Self-taught und non-binary hat die Musikerin drei von der Kritik geschätzte Alben veröffentlicht – von den vielen Kollaborationen, Opern, Filmsoundtracks und Remixen ganz zu schweigen. Seit Beginn ihrer Karriere hat Rostron mit The Knife, Bruce LaBruce, Mount Sims und Shit Robot zusammengearbeitet. Ihre Alben erschienen bei DFA Records.
planningtorockofficial.com

Back to Top