Caterina Barbieri

September 2018

Caterina Barbieri is a Berlin-based Italian composer. Her debut album “Vertical” was produced between Elektronmusikstudion and the Royal University of Music in Stockholm. Since then, her work has been presented in festivals and venues such as The Long Now, MaerzMusik, Atonal, CTM, HKW, Ableton Loop, Moogfest, Mutek, Barbican Centre and Biennale di Venezia 2017. Her last solo LP “Patterns of Consciousness” has received critical acclaim and has been named in several “Best of 2017” music round-ups (Fact Mag, The Wire, Boomkat).
caterinabarbieri.com

Mentees
Ionian Death Robes (Abigail Toll)
Maya Shenfeld

caterina-barbieri

Laurel Halo

October 2018

Laurel Halo is a Berlin-based recording artist. Her eccentric, genre-defying productions have earned her a reputation as a producer with a singular, distinctive voice. Originally from the North-American Midwest, Laurel Halo has released three albums and several EP’s via the renowned labels Hyperdub, Honest John, Hippos in Tanks and NNA Tapes. Her last album “Dust” featured contributions by Julia Holter, Klein, Lafawnda who like Laurel Halo channel the Zeitgeist of today in their work.
laurelhalo.com

Mentees
Baal & Mortimer (Alexandra Gruebler)
xin

laurel-halo

Lucrecia Dalt

November 2018

Lucrecia Dalt is a Berlin-based songwriter who dove into music full-time after working as a civil engineer in Colombia. Her pursuit of avant-garde sound brought her to Barcelona and then to Berlin, where she currently resides. Over the years, she has collaborated with Berlin’s F.S. Blumm, Barbara Morgenstern, Gudrun Gut, Julia Holter, and, in the project Terepa, with a group comprised of Rashad Becker, Charlotte Collin, Laurel Halo, Julia Holter, NHK’Koyxen, and Grégoire Simon. She has recorded five albums on labels such as Human Ear Music, Care of Editions and Nicolas Jaar’s imprint Syzygy.
lucreciadalt.tumblr.com

Mentees
Albertine Sarges
Daniela Huerta (AKA Baby Vulture)

lucrecia-dalt

Robert Lippok

January 2019

Robert Lippok is an avant-garde musician and visual artist and composer who has been an influential player in Berlin’s thriving experimental music scene from a very early age. In the 80’s his brother Ronald and him played dissident music under the name Ornament und Verbrechen. In the 90’s they started post-rock outfit To Rococo Rot together with Stefan Schneider and published on various labels such as Kitty-Yo, City Slang or Staubgold. His solo work has been featured on the renowned label Raster-Noton.
raster-media.net/artists/robert-lippok

Mentees
The Allegorist (Anna Jordan)
Jana Irmert

robert-lippok

Ziúr

Februar 2019

Ziúr is a Berlin-based DJ/producer. In 2015 Ziúr self-released her first mixtape /xuːx/ featuring Brooklyn’s Samantha Urbani and Dev Hynes (Blood Orange) and San Francisco rapper MicahTron. In 2016 her official debut EP “Taiga” followed, she also contributed to Peaches’ remix album. Her first full-length album “U Feel Anything?” was released October 2017 on Planet Mu. Ziúr played festivals such as Unsound, CTM, Lunchmeat, 3hd and shared stage with Kablam, Amnesia Scanner, Patten and DJ PayPal.
http://planet.mu/artists/ziur/

Mentees
BORA
Nancy Drone

ziur

Born in Flamez

March 2019

Born in Flamez is a Berlin-based producer and DJ who subverts gender and genre with a range of influences somewhere between deconstructed club, lofi pop, grime, and classical music. The project has released tracks on Infinite Machine, Monkeytown and UnReal and collaborated with the likes of WWWings, Ziúr and Modeselektor. They have produced with LA based noise trio Health, whom she also supported on tour. They also supported canadian multitalent OPN in Europe and co-curated CTM festival 2018.
soundcloud.com/born-in-flamez

born-in-flamez

Ville Haimala

April 2019

Ville Haimala is a Finnish born Berlin based artist and producer best known as one half of music duo, performing arts troupe, experience design studio and production house Amnesia Scanner. Amnesia Scanner has released a series of critically acclaimed albums/records on labels like Young Turks and PAN and presented work at art institutions such as ICA London, HKW Berlin, and the Serpentine Gallery Marathon in London. Aside working on Amnesia Scanner, Ville is also working as a composer and music producer collaborating with visual and musical artists like FKA Twigs, David Byrne, Holly Herndon and Oliver Laric.
amnesiascanner.net

ville-haimala

Andi Toma

May 2019

Andi Toma is a founding member of Mouse on Mars – one of the most defining and versatile electronic music projects from Germany. Since they started in 1993, Andi Toma and band partner Jan St. Werner have recorded 15 albums and have started various collaborations, such as with outsider composer Moondog, The Falls Mark E. Smith and avant-pop-outfit Stereolab. Additionally to Mouse on Mars the duo started a label called sonig where they showcase experimental music. Originally from Düsseldorf, Andi Toma now lives and works in Berlin.
mouseonmars.com
sonig.com

andi-toma

Drew McDowall

June 2019

Drew McDowall is a Scottish born- NYC based composer and musician. He was a member of Coil in the 90’s contributing heavily to some of their most respected and influential works. Recently he has presented his hallucinatory, darkly experimental work at international festivals such as CTM, Berlin Atonal, Labyrinth, UH Festival, Dark Mofo and Unsound. He has collaborated with Hiro Kone, Puce Mary, Croatian Amor, Varg and Rabit amongst others. His latest solo album The Third Helix was released on Dais Records in September 2018.
daisrecords.com/collections/Drew-McDowall

drew-mcdowall

Planningtorock

July 2019

Jam Rostron aka Planningtorock is a Bolton born Berlin-based singer-songwriter, composer, producer and director. A self-taught, non-binary, working class musician, they released three critically acclaimed studio albums of left-field dance music to their name – not to mention various collaborations, opera’s, film scores and remixes. Over the last decade Rostron worked with The Knife, Bruce LaBruce, Mount Sims and Shit Robot and released on DFA Records.
planningtorockofficial.com

planningtorock

Caterina Barbieri

September 2018

Caterina Barbieri ist eine Komponistin aus Italien, die zur Zeit in Berlin aktiv ist. Ihr Debütalbum „Vertical“ entstand zwischen dem Elektronmusikstudion und der Royal University of Music in Stockholm. Seitdem hat sie ihre Musik an verschiedenen Orten präsentiert, darunter The Long Now, MaerzMusik, Atonal, CTM, HKW, Ableton Loop, Moogfest, Mutek, Barbican Centre und Biennale di Venezia 2017. Ihr letztes Album „Patterns of Consciousness“ schaffte es in die Best-of-Listen von Publikationen, wie Fact Mag, The Wire und Boomkat.
caterinabarbieri.com

Mentee
Ionian Death Robes (Abigail Toll)
Maya Shenfeld

caterina-barbieri

Laurel Halo

Oktober 2018

Laurel Halo ist eine Avant-Techno-Produzentin aus dem Mittleren Westen der USA, die zur Zeit in Berlin lebt und arbeitet. Ihre exzentrischen und Genre-überschreitenden Produktionen haben sie zu einer der herausragendsten Produzentinnen der letzten Jahre gemacht. Drei Alben und mehrere EPs hat sie über die renommierten Labels Hyperdub, Honest John, Hippos in Tanks und NNA Tapes veröffentlicht. An ihrem letzten Album „Dust“ wirkten Julia Holter, Klein und Lafawnda mit, deren Arbeiten wie die Laurel Halos Spiegel unserer Zeit sind.
laurelhalo.com

Mentee
Baal & Mortimer (Alexandra Gruebler)
xin

laurel-halo

Lucrecia Dalt

November 2018

Lucrecia Dalt ist eine in Berlin lebende Songwriterin. Über Barcelona kam die gelernte Bauingenieurin aus Kolumbien nach Berlin, um nach neuen Sounds zu suchen. Über die Jahre kollaborierte sie mit Künstler*Innen, wie F.S. Blumm, Barbara Morgenstern, Gudrun Gut, Julia Holter, Rashad Becker, Charlotte Collin, Laurel Halo, Julia Holter, NHK’Koyxen und Grégoire Simon. Sie hat fünf Alben und mehrere EPs auf den Labels Human Ear Music, Care of Editions und Syzygy veröffentlicht.
lucreciadalt.tumblr.com

Mentee
Albertine Sarges
Daniela Huerta (AKA Baby Vulture)

lucrecia-dalt

Robert Lippok

Januar 2019

Robert Lippok ist ein Avantgarde-Musiker, Visual-Artist und Komponist, der bereits in jungen Jahren Berlins pulsierende Experimental-Szene geprägt hat. Gemeinsam mit seinem Bruder Ronald spielte er in den 80ern in Ostberlin Industrial unter dem Namen Ornament und Verbrechen. In den 90ern bildeten die beiden mit Stefan Schneider das Postrock-Trio To Rococo Rot und veröffentlichten Musik auf den Labels Kitty-Yo, City Slang und Staubgold. Seine Solo-Arbeiten erscheinen seit 2001 auf dem renommierten Label Raster-Noton.
raster-media.net/artists/robert-lippok

Mentee
The Allegorist (Anna Jordan)
Jana Irmert

robert-lippok

Ziúr

Februar 2019

Ziúr ist eine Producerin und DJ aus Berlin. Ihr erstes Mixtape /xuːx/ erschien 2015 und enthielt Beiträge von Samantha Urbani und Dev Hynes (Blood Orange) aus Brooklyn und Rapperin MicahTron aus San Francisco. 2016 folgte ihre offizielle Debut-EP „Taiga“, außerdem war Ziúr an dem Remix-Album der Musikerin Peaches beteiligt. Ihr erstes Album „U Feel Anything?“ erschien im Oktober 2017 auf Planet Mu. Ziúr spielte auf den Festivals Unsound, CTM, Lunchmeat, 3hd und trat mit DJ-Größen, wie Kablam, Amnesia Scanner, Patten und DJ PayPal, auf.
http://planet.mu/artists/ziur/

Mentee
BORA
Nancy Drone

ziur

Born in Flamez

März 2019

Born in Flamez ist eine Produzentin und DJ aus Berlin, deren Genre-aufbrechende Produktionen sich zwischen dekonstruierter Clubmusik, Lofi-Pop, Grime und Klassik bewegen. Ihre Tracks erschienen unter anderem auf Infinite Machine, Monkeytown und UnReal. Gearbeitet hat sie mit WWWings, Ziúr und Modeselektor und produzierte für das Noise-Trio Healt aus LA, das sie ebenfalls auf Tour begleitete. Born in Flamez spielte als Support für das kanadische Multitalent OPN in Europa und ko-kuratierte das CTM-Festival 2018.
soundcloud.com/born-in-flamez

born-in-flamez

Ville Haimala

April 2019

Ville Haimala ist ein in Berlin lebender Künstler und Producer, der mit Amnesia Scanner große Bekanntheit erlangte, einem Hybrid aus Musik, Performance, Production und Design. Mit Amnesia Scanner veröffentlichte er Alben auf Young Turks und PAN und präsentierte seine Arbeiten im ICA London, HKW Berlin und der Serpentine Gallery Marathon in London. Über Amnesia Scanner hinaus ist Ville als Komponist und Produzent aktiv und arbeitete mit Künstler*Innen, wie FKA Twigs, David Byrne, Holly Herndon und Oliver Laric.
amnesiascanner.net

ville-haimala

Andi Toma

Mai 2019

Andi Toma ist Gründungsmitglied von Mouse on Mars, eines der einflussreichsten und vielseitigsten Electronic-Projekte aus Deutschland. Seit 1993 haben Andi Toma und sein Bandpartner Jan St. Werner 15 Alben aufgenommen und mit bedeutenden Namen kollaboriert, darunter die New Yorker Musik-Ikone Moondog, The-Fall-Sänger Mark E. Smith und die Avant-Pop-Band Stereolab. Zusätzlich zu Mouse on Mars hat das Duo das Label sonig gegründet, auf dem es experimenteller Musik eine Plattform bietet. Andi Toma, gebürtiger Düsseldorfer, lebt und arbeitet in Berlin.
mouseonmars.com
sonig.com

andi-toma

Drew McDowall

Juni 2019

Drew McDowall ist ein Komponist und Musiker, der zur Zeit in New York lebt und arbeitet. In den 90ern spielte er bei Coil und trug maßgeblich zu den einflussreichsten Alben der Band bei. Zuletzt präsentierte er seine düster-experimentellen Arbeiten auf internationalen Festivals, wie CTM, Berlin Atonal, Labyrinth, UH Festival, Dark Mofo und Unsound. Zusammengearbeitet hat er mit Hiro Kone, Puce Mary, Croatian Amor, Varg und Rabit. Sein drittes Album The Third Helix wurde im September 2018 auf Dais Records veröffentlicht.
daisrecords.com/collections/Drew-McDowall

drew-mcdowall

Planningtorock

Juli 2019

Jam Rostron aka Planningtorock ist eine in Berlin lebende Singer-Songwriterin, Komponistin, Producerin und Regisseurin. Self-taught und non-binary hat die Musikerin drei von der Kritik geschätzte Alben veröffentlicht – von den vielen Kollaborationen, Opern, Filmsoundtracks und Remixen ganz zu schweigen. Seit Beginn ihrer Karriere hat Rostron mit The Knife, Bruce LaBruce, Mount Sims und Shit Robot zusammengearbeitet. Ihre Alben erschienen bei DFA Records.
planningtorockofficial.com

planningtorock