Amplify Berlin is a residency program designed to support emerging Berlin-based musicians through mentorships with more established ones in order to facilitate creative development through guidance, a focused work environment and access to resources. This program has been initiated by Acud Macht Neu and is co-financed by the Europäischer Fonds für regionale Entwicklung (EFRE) and Musicboard Berlin. The program has been funded until 2021, with a total of 25 mentors and 50 mentees over the three-year period.

The program will take place at Kunsthaus ACUD in Berlin-Mitte which houses a club/concert space, a multidisciplinary discursive/performative space, a gallery, a cinema, a theater, Berlin Community Radio and the headquarters of the CTM Festival, amongst others. It is a vibrant creative, artistic community which has remained at this location for over 25 years. In 2017, the club, studio and gallery spaces alone hosted over 200 events.

During each one-month residency period, two emerging artists will receive feedback and advice from their mentor, work (together with their mentor and individually) in a private music studio with a range of equipment and software, develop/practice their live set in the ACUD club’s concert space with its professional stage, lighting and PA (with the opportunity to work with the assistance of a sound technician in both), as well as host a radio show on a web radio. They will be required to complete at least one track to be shared online and at the end of the month, they will play the live set they have prepared at a showcase event at ACUD Club, on a lineup alongside their mentor.

Applicants would be committing to a period of one month for their residency. Note that applicants should be Berlin-based and no accommodations are provided. Applicants are required to commit time to their development in the studio and club spaces at ACUD, in order to focus on their work and complete the program’s objectives. However, they are not required to be available every day of the month.

After the program is completed, the past residents will be invited to meet up regularly at events at ACUD, to continue the ongoing process of artistic development, professional growth and community building.

About
The collective Acud Macht Neu runs a multi-disciplinary program in three spaces at Kunsthaus ACUD. Their music program showcases a wide variety of genres and formats, reflecting diverse artists from Berlin and beyond.
Equally important is the support of emerging artists. In addition to Amplify Berlin, the workshop/club series No Shade gives female and non-binary DJs the possibility to train and perform.

Amplify Berlin ist ein Residency-Program, mit dem neue Projekte aufstrebender Musiker*Innen aus Berlin gefördert werden. Sie erhalten Anleitung von etablierten Mentor*Innen und ein produktives Arbeitsumfeld mit professionellem Equipment. Amplify Berlin ist eine Initiative von Acud Macht Neu und wird kofinanziert durch den Europäischen Fonds für regionale Entwicklung (EFRE) und Musicboard Berlin. Gefördert ist das Projekt bis 2021, insgesamt 25 Mentor*Innen und 50 Mentee nehmen an dem dreijährigen Residency-Program teil.

Das Programm findet im Kunsthaus ACUD in Berlin-Mitte statt, in dem das Kollektiv Acud Macht Neu ACUD Club, Studio und Galerie bespielt und in dem auch ein Kino, ein Theater, das Berlin Community Radio und das Büro des CTM Festivals untergebracht sind. Das Haus ist seit 25 Jahren Treffpunkt für Künstler*Innen aus Berlin und darüber hinaus. Mehr als 200 Veranstaltungen fanden 2017 in Club, Studio und Galerie statt.

Einen Monat lang erhalten zwei aufstrebende Künstler*Innen Feedback und Anleitung von ihren Mentor*Innen, arbeiten in einem eigens eingerichteten Studio, entwickeln und üben ihre Livesets auf der Bühne des ACUD Clubs und hosten eine Radioshow in einem Webradio. Neben professionellem Equipment steht ihnen eine Tontechniker*In zur Verfügung. Ziel der Residency ist es, einen Track fertigzustellen, der am Ende des Monats online geteilt wird. Außerdem performen die Teilnehmer*Innen das Live-Set, das sie vorbereitet haben, im Rahmen eines Showcase im ACUD Club, bei dem auch die Mentor*Innen auftreten.

Bewerber*Innen verpflichten sich dazu, die einmonatige Residency wahrzunehmen. Sie sollten in Berlin leben, Kost und Logis können nicht bereitgestellt werden. Es wird erwartet, dass sich die Bewerber*Innen auf die Arbeit im Studio und Club konzentrieren, um die Ziele des Programms zu erreichen. Das bedeutet nicht, dass sie jeden Tag in dem Monat da sein müssen.

Auch über das Programm hinaus werden die Residents nachhaltig durch das ACUD unterstützt, um den künstlerischen Entwicklungsprozess und die Vernetzung in der Szene fortzusetzen.

About
Das Kollektiv Acud Macht Neu bespielt drei Räume im Kunsthaus ACUD mit einem multi-disziplinären Programm, das sich an der Schnittstelle zwischen Musik, Performance-Kunst und Politik bewegt. Ziel des Musikprogramms ist es, eine größtmögliche Vielfalt an Stilen und Formaten aus Berlin und darüber hinaus abzubilden.
Ebenso bedeutend ist die Unterstützung von Nachwuchskünstler*Innen. Neben Amplify Berlin hat Acud Macht Neu die Workshop/Club-Reihe No Shade initiiert, die weiblichen und non-binary DJs die Chance geben möchte, ihre Musik zu proben und aufzuführen.